SUBARU CANADA, INC. PERSONAL INFORMATION PRIVACY POLICY FOR CUSTOMERS, SUPPLIERS, DEALERS AND PARTNERS OUR PRIVACY COMMITMENT

Last revised: June 23, 2014

OUR PRIVACY COMMITMENT

Subaru Canada, Inc. ("Subaru") values its relationship with you, our existing or potential customers, suppliers, employment applicants, dealers and partners, and is committed to maintaining the security, confidentiality and privacy of your personal information. Subaru has developed a Personal Information Privacy Policy incorporating the principles set out below, to reflect its on-going commitment to you. Subaru has ensured that its Privacy Policy is in compliance with Canadian privacy laws which apply to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information.

SCOPE OF POLICY

"Personal Information" as used in this Privacy Policy means information about an identifiable individual. This Privacy Policy does not apply to the collection, use or disclosure of business contact information (for example the name, title, business address and telephone number of an employee of an organization), to Subaru's employees, or in part to certain publicly available information.

ACCOUNTABILITY

Accountability for Subaru's compliance with its Privacy Policy rests with Subaru's Privacy Officer, even though other individuals within Subaru may have responsibility for management of personal information or may be delegated to act on behalf of the Privacy Officer.

Subaru will be responsible for personal information in its possession or custody, and will also use reasonable contractual or other available means to provide a comparable level of protection when the information is being processed or managed by a third party on Subaru's behalf.

PURPOSES

In general, Subaru has collected, and will continue to collect, use and disclose personal information for purposes authorized or required by law, as well as for the following purposes:

  • to administer your transaction;
  • to provide to you with products and services related to your current and future vehicles;
  • to assist you to finance or lease vehicles;
  • to administer customer notification programs;
  • to evaluate your satisfaction with their products and services; in accordance a consent you have provided us or our dealer on our behalf
  • to maintain accurate customer records to satisfy legal and industry-wide regulatory obligations
  • to make annual filings and reports with regulatory bodies, shareholders and creditors
  • to respond to your inquiries;
  • to distribute Six Star Review, The Magazine for Canadian Subaru Owners and similar Subaru magazines and publications
  • to permit carefully selected third party providers of products and services related to your current and future vehicles to provide their goods and services to you, such as roadside assistance providers or satellite radio providers
  • to permit Subaru, our dealers and/or carefully selected third parties to contact you by mail, email, text, cell/telephone, or other means of telecommunication to provide you with news, information, updates, advertising, and promotions about products and services that may be of interest to you
  • to analyse the operations of dealers, suppliers and business partners
  • to allow you to participate in Subaru vehicle test drives
  • to share some of your information under strictly limited and confidential circumstances with our affiliates, dealers, representatives, suppliers and Subaru business partners such as the Canadian Automobile Association (CAA) who assist us in providing products and services and allow us to more effectively carry on our business
  • to establish, administer and document training, development and educational requirements and programs
  • to establish, administer and document incentive programs
  • to evaluate potential suppliers and their staff, make decisions about entering into product and/or supply relationships with them, and to monitor, assess and address these relationships
  • to evaluate potential dealers and their staff, make decisions about entering into dealer relationships with them, and to monitor, assess and address these relationships
  • to evaluate potential partners and/or co-suppliers and their staff, make decisions about entering into relationships with them, and to monitor, assess and address these relationships
  • to implement and manage security programs and internal controls (including computer monitoring and video surveillance)
  • to protect Subaru, and its customers, suppliers, dealers and partners, from theft, fraud and similar risks
  • to assist dealers in carrying on their business and related products and services, such as warranty and non-warranty services for vehicles, vehicle parts, extended warranty arrangements and financing of vehicle purchases if we engage a third party to provide services to us (such as marketing, IT or storage services)

CONSENT

The way in which Subaru obtains your consent to collecting, using or disclosing your personal information will vary depending upon its sensitivity and legal requirements. We may ask for your consent or our dealer may obtain a consent on our behalf. Your consent also may be implied or implicit through your conduct when it is reasonable and legally permissible for us to do so.

We will honour any specific consents you provide to us regarding the collection, use, and disclosure of your personal information. You may withdraw or change your consents at any time, subject to legal or contractual restrictions, by giving to Subaru reasonable notice. In appropriate cases, Subaru will inform individuals of any implications of withdrawing consent. Notwithstanding the foregoing, Subaru reserves the right to retain, collect, use, and disclose your personal information and to contact you where Subaru is legally required or permitted to do so.

Subaru will not, as a condition of the supply of services, require an individual to consent to the collection, use, or disclosure of personal information beyond that required to fulfil the specified purposes.

In certain circumstances as permitted or required by law, Subaru may collect, use or disclose personal information without the knowledge or consent of the individual. These circumstances include the following: to investigate a breach of an agreement or a contravention of a law; where collection or use is clearly in the interests of the individual and consent cannot be obtained in a timely way; for debt collection; to act in respect to an emergency that threatens an individual; or to comply with a subpoena, warrant or court order.

If you want to unsubscribe from Subaru and/or certain non-Subaru third parties contacting you by mail, email, text, cell/telephone, or other means of telecommunication to provide you with news, information, updates, advertising, and promotions about products and services that may be of interest to you, and/or correct your personal information, please click here privacy.mysubaru.ca

LIMITS FOR COLLECTING, USING AND DISCLOSING PERSONAL INFORMATION

Subaru will limit the amount and type of personal information collected to that which is necessary for the purposes of the collection.

Personal information will be retained only as long as necessary to fulfil the purposes of the collection or as required or permitted by law, and at the end of such time will be destroyed or made anonymous. Personal information which has been used to make a decision about an individual will be retained long enough (for at least one year after using it) to reasonably allow the individual access to the information after the decision, and long enough to exhaust any access request or a challenge an individual may bring under applicable privacy laws.

ACCESSS

All individuals generally have a right to access their personal information in Subaru's possession or custody. Upon receiving a written request (mail, e-mail or fax) addressed to Subaru's Privacy Officer clearly identifying the requested information with adequate identification of the requesting individual, Subaru will inform the individual of the existence, use, and disclosure of the personal information and give the individual access to that personal information. If Subaru is not able to provide a list of the organizations to which it may have actually disclosed the personal information, it will provide a list of organizations to which it may have disclosed the information.

Subaru will respond to an individual's written access request, with information in a form that is generally understandable, within a reasonable time (generally within 30 days) or will provide an explanation if additional time is required to fulfil the request. Subaru's response will typically be provided for a minimal handling fee which Subaru reserves the right to vary depending on the nature of the request and the amount of information involved. Subaru will inform the individual of the approximate cost to provide the response, and will provide the information upon receipt of payment.

Individuals can question the accuracy and completeness of their personal information and request that it be amended as appropriate. If an individual demonstrates in a reasonable manner the inaccuracy or incompleteness of their personal information, Subaru will amend the information as required. If a request is not resolved to the satisfaction of the individual, Subaru will record the substance of the unresolved request. Where appropriate, the amended information or the existence of the unresolved request will be transmitted to third parties having access to the information in question.

In some situations, Subaru may be permitted to refuse or not be able to provide access to certain personal information, and will upon request provide an explanation. Exceptions to the access right which are permitted or required by applicable privacy laws include: information that contains references to other individuals or contains confidential commercial information (where such information cannot be severed from the record); information collected in the course of investigating a breach of an agreement or in the course of a formal dispute resolution process; and information that is subject to solicitor-client privilege.

If you need to obtain a copy of the form to be used to make access requests to Subaru for your personal information which Subaru may hold, please click here: SCI Access Request Form

ACCURACY

Subaru will use reasonable efforts to ensure that the personal information it uses on an ongoing basis is accurate, complete and up-to-date as necessary for the purposes for which it is to be used, including information that is disclosed to third parties, and information that is used to make a decision about an individual.

SAFEGUARDS

Subaru protects the personal information it holds or controls, by establishing reasonable security arrangements against loss, theft, unauthorized access, use, disclosure, copying or modification. Subaru will make its employees aware of the importance of maintaining the confidentiality of personal information, and will exercise care in the disposal or destruction of personal information. Examples of safeguards include physical measures (such as locked filing cabinets and access cards), organizational measures (such as security clearances and restrictions on employee access to files and databases) and technological measures (such as passwords and firewalls).

TRANSMISSION AND PROCESSING OF YOUR INFORMATION

Subaru may transmit personal information outside of Canada, including to the United States, for processing by Subaru, its affiliates or third party service providers for some or all of the purposes described above. While outside of Canada, personal information may be accessible to law enforcement and national security authorities of the foreign jurisdiction. If you have questions about Subaru's policies and practices regarding the use of affiliates and service providers outside of Canada to collect, use, disclose, or store personal information, please direct them to Subaru's Privacy Officer at the contact information at the end of this Privacy Policy.

OPENNESS

Subaru will make the following readily available: general information concerning our Privacy Policy; how to gain access to your personal information; the type of personal information held by Subaru; a general account of the use and disclosure of the personal information; and how to contact our Privacy Officer.

CHANGES TO THIS PRIVACY POLICY

Since Subaru may review its policies and procedures, Subaru may change this Privacy Policy from time to time and the revised Privacy Policy will be effective on posting the revised Privacy Policy on our website with a note of the date the Privacy Policy was revised. It is therefore important that you review this Privacy Policy regularly.

CHALLENGING COMPLIANCE

Subaru will, on request, provide information regarding its procedure for addressing any complaints made with respect to Subaru's application of privacy laws. Subaru will investigate all written complaints, and if it finds a complaint to be justified, Subaru will take the appropriate measures, including, if necessary, amending our policies and practices.
Please direct any questions about the complaint procedure or any other aspect of this Privacy Policy to Subaru's Privacy Officer at:

Privacy Officer
Subaru Canada, Inc.
560 Suffolk Court
Mississauga, Ontario, L5R 4J7
e-mail at: privacy.mysubaru.ca
Telephone: 1-800-894-4212
Fax: 905-568-8087

POLITIQUE DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ DE SUBARU CANADA, INC. RELATIVEMENT AUX RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS DES CLIENTS, FOURNISSEURS, CONCESSIONNAIRES ET PARTENAIRES - NOTRE ENGAGEMENT EN MATIÈRE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Lundi 23 Juin 2014

NOTRE ENGAGEMENT EN MATIÈRE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Subaru Canada, Inc. (« Subaru ») apprécie sa relation avec vous, qui êtes ses clients, ses fournisseurs, ses postulants d’emploi, ses concessionnaires et ses partenaires existants ou potentiels, et elle est déterminée à préserver la sécurité et la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels et à en assurer la protection. Subaru a élaboré une politique de protection des renseignements personnels intégrant les principes énoncés ci-dessous afin de refléter son engagement permanent envers vous. Subaru s’est assurée que sa politique de protection des renseignements personnels est conforme aux lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels du Canada qui s’appliquent à la collecte, à l’utilisation et à la communication des renseignements personnels.

PORTÉE DE LA POLITIQUE

L’expression « renseignements personnels », telle qu’elle est utilisée dans la présente politique de protection des renseignements personnels, s’entend des renseignements concernant une personne identifiable. Cette politique de protection des renseignements personnels ne s’applique pas à la collecte et à l’utilisation des renseignements relatifs aux coordonnées d’affaires (par exemple, le nom, la fonction, l’adresse professionnelle et le numéro de téléphone d’un employé d’une organisation), ni à leur communication aux employés de Subaru, non plus qu’en partie à certains renseignements auxquels le public a accès.

RESPONSABILITÉ

Il incombe à l’agent à la protection de la vie privée de s’assurer que Subaru respecte sa politique de protection des renseignements personnels, même si d’autres personnes au sein de Subaru peuvent être chargées de la gestion des renseignements personnels ou peuvent être déléguées pour agir pour le compte de l’agent à la protection de la vie privée.

Subaru est responsable des renseignements personnels en sa possession ou sous sa garde et utilisera les moyens raisonnables, notamment contractuels, à sa disposition pour fournir un degré comparable de protection aux renseignements qui sont traités ou gérés par un tiers pour le compte de Subaru.

FINS

En général, Subaru a recueilli et continuera de recueillir, d’utiliser et de communiquer des renseignements personnels à des fins autorisées ou exigées par la loi, ainsi qu’aux fins suivantes :

  • administrer l’opération avec vous;
  • vous fournir des produits et des services se rapportant à votre véhicule actuel et à tout véhicule à venir;
  • appuyer vos démarches liées au financement ou à la location de véhicules;
  • administrer les campagnes de diffusion d’avis aux clients;
  • évaluer votre satisfaction à l’égard de ses produits et services;
  • conformément à tout consentement que vous nous avez donné ou que vous avez transmis à notre concessionnaire en notre nom;
  • tenir des dossiers précis des clients afin de respecter les obligations imposées par la loi et la réglementation à l’échelle de l’industrie;
  • déposer des documents et des rapports annuels auprès des organismes de réglementation, des actionnaires et des créanciers; répondre à vos demandes;
  • distribuer la publication La Revue Six Étoiles, Le magazine des propriétaires de Subaru du Canada et des revues et publications similaires de Subaru;
  • permettre à des tiers soigneusement choisis qui sont fournisseurs de produits et de services se rapportant à votre véhicule actuel et à tout véhicule à venir pour vous fournir des produits et des services, comme les fournisseurs de services d’assistance routière ou les fournisseurs de radio par satellite;
  • permettre à Subaru, à nos concessionnaires et(ou) à des tiers soigneusement choisis de communiquer avec vous par la poste, par courriel, par message texte, par cellulaire/téléphone ou par tout autre moyen de télécommunications pour vous communiquer des nouvelles, des renseignements, des mises à jour, des annonces et de la publicité sur des produits et des services susceptibles de vous intéresser;
  • analyser les activités des concessionnaires, des fournisseurs et des partenaires commerciaux;
  • vous permettre de participer aux essais sur route des véhicules Subaru;
  • partager certains de vos renseignements dans des circonstances strictement limitées et confidentielles avec les membres de notre groupe, nos concessionnaires, nos représentants, nos fournisseurs et les partenaires commerciaux de Subaru, comme l’Association canadienne des automobilistes (CAA), qui nous aident en nous fournissant des produits et des services et qui nous permettent d’exploiter plus efficacement notre entreprise;
  • établir, administrer et documenter les exigences et les programmes de formation, de développement et d’éducation;
  • établir, administrer et documenter les programmes incitatifs;
  • évaluer les fournisseurs potentiels et leur personnel;
  • prendre des décisions sur l’établissement de relations avec eux à l’égard de produits et(ou) d’un approvisionnement et superviser, évaluer et aborder ces relations;
  • évaluer les concessionnaires potentiels et leur personnel, prendre des décisions sur l’établissement de relations de concessionnaire avec eux et superviser, évaluer et aborder ces relations;
  • évaluer des partenaires et(ou) des cofournisseurs potentiels et leur personnel, prendre des décisions sur l’établissement de relations avec eux et superviser, évaluer et aborder ces relations;
  • instaurer et gérer des programmes de sécurité et des contrôles internes (y compris une surveillance informatique et une vidéosurveillance);
  • protéger Subaru et ses clients, fournisseurs, concessionnaires et partenaires contre le vol, la fraude et les risques similaires;
  • aider les concessionnaires à exploiter leurs entreprises et les produits et services connexes, comme les services sous garantie et autres services pour les véhicules, les pièces de véhicule, les arrangements de garantie prolongée et le financement des achats de véhicules;
  • si nous mandatons un tiers pour nous offrir des services (comme des services de marketing, de TI ou d’entreposage).

CONSENTEMENT

La façon dont Subaru obtient votre consentement à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la communication de vos renseignements personnels variera selon la sensibilité de ces renseignements et les exigences de la législation. Nous pouvons demander votre consentement ou notre concessionnaire peut obtenir un consentement en notre nom. Votre conduite peut également laisser supposer votre consentement lorsque nous pouvons le faire raisonnablement et que les lois nous le permettent.

Nous respecterons les consentements spécifiques que vous nous transmettez sur la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de vos renseignements personnels. Vous pouvez retirer ou changer vos consentements en tout temps, sous réserve de restrictions prévues par une loi ou un contrat, en donnant un avis raisonnable à Subaru. Dans les cas appropriés, Subaru informera les personnes des répercussions du retrait de leur consentement. Malgré ce qui précède, Subaru se réserve le droit de conserver, de recueillir, d’utiliser et de communiquer vos renseignements personnels et de vous en informer lorsque la loi l’y oblige ou l’y autorise.

Subaru n’exigera pas, comme condition préalable à la prestation de services, qu’une personne consente à la collecte, à l’utilisation ou à la communication des renseignements personnels au-delà de ceux qui sont nécessaires pour atteindre les fins précisées.

Dans certaines circonstances, dans la mesure où la loi le permet ou l’exige, Subaru peut recueillir, utiliser ou communiquer des renseignements personnels sans que la personne concernée n’en soit informée ou n'y ait consenti. De telles circonstances incluent les suivantes : enquêter sur la violation d’une entente ou sur la contravention d’une loi; lorsque la collecte ou l’utilisation est manifestement dans l’intérêt de la personne et que le consentement ne peut être obtenu en temps opportun; le recouvrement de créances; répondre à une situation d’urgence mettant en danger une personne; ou répondre aux exigences d’une assignation, d’un mandat ou d’une ordonnance de la cour.

Si vous désirez ne plus recevoir de communications de la part de Subaru et(ou) de certains tiers extérieurs à Subaru par la poste, courriel, message texte, cellulaire/téléphone ou par d’autres moyens de télécommunications destinés à vous transmettre des nouvelles, des renseignements, des mises à jour, des annonces et des publicités sur des produits et services pouvant vous intéresser et(ou) pour corriger vos renseignements personnels, veuillez cliquer sur le lien privacy.mysubaru.ca.

LIMITES RELATIVES À LA COLLECTE, À L’UTILISATION ET À LA COMMUNICATION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Subaru limitera la quantité et le type de renseignements personnels recueillis à ceux qui sont nécessaires aux fins de la collecte.
Les renseignements personnels seront conservés seulement pendant le temps nécessaire pour la réalisation des fins de la collecte ou tel que la loi l’exige ou le permet, et à la fin de cette période, ils seront détruits ou dépersonnalisés. Les renseignements personnels servant à prendre une décision au sujet d’une personne seront conservés durant le temps nécessaire (pendant au moins un an après leur utilisation) pour permettre raisonnablement à la personne d’accéder aux renseignements après la décision et également d’épuiser toute demande d’accès ou tous ses recours en vertu des lois applicables en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

ACCÈS

Toutes les personnes ont habituellement un droit d’accès à leurs renseignements personnels que Subaru a en sa possession ou qui sont sous sa garde. Sur réception d’une demande écrite (par la poste, par courriel ou par télécopieur) adressée à l’agent à la protection de la vie privée de Subaru précisant clairement le renseignement demandé et incluant une identification appropriée de la personne qui fait la demande, Subaru informera cette personne de l’existence, de l’utilisation et de la communication des renseignements personnels et lui donnera accès à ces renseignements personnels. Si Subaru ne peut fournir une liste des organisations auxquelles elle aurait réellement communiqué les renseignements personnels, elle lui remettra une liste des organisations auxquelles elle pourrait avoir communiqué les renseignements.

Dans un délai raisonnable (en général 30 jours), Subaru répondra à une demande d’accès qu’une personne lui a transmise par écrit en communiquant à cette personne des renseignements, dans une forme habituellement facile à comprendre, ou lui donnera une explication si elle a besoin d’un délai supplémentaire pour répondre à cette demande. La réponse de Subaru sera habituellement transmise moyennant des frais de manutention minimes qu’elle se réserve le droit de modifier, selon la nature de la demande et la quantité de renseignements en jeu. Subaru informera la personne du coût approximatif de la réponse et communiquera les renseignements sur réception du paiement.

Les personnes peuvent mettre en doute l’exactitude et le caractère complet de leurs renseignements personnels et demander de les faire modifier au besoin. Si une personne démontre de façon raisonnable que ses renseignements personnels sont inexacts ou incomplets, Subaru changera les renseignements tel que demandé. Si une demande n’est pas réglée à la satisfaction de la personne, Subaru notera le contenu de la demande non résolue. Au besoin, les renseignements modifiés ou l’existence de la demande non résolue seront transmis aux tiers ayant accès aux renseignements en cause.

Dans certaines situations, Subaru peut être autorisée à refuser l’accès à certains renseignements personnels ou être dans l’impossibilité d’accorder cet accès et sur demande, elle fournira une explication à cet égard. Les exceptions au droit d’accès qui sont autorisées ou exigées par les lois applicables en matière de protection des renseignements personnels incluent : les renseignements contenant des détails sur d’autres personnes ou des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels (lorsque de tels renseignements ne peuvent être retranchés des documents), les renseignements recueillis dans le cadre d’une enquête concernant la violation d’une entente ou dans le cours d’un processus officiel de règlement des différends, ainsi que les renseignements protégés par le secret professionnel liant l’avocat à son client.

Si vous avez besoin d’obtenir une copie du formulaire que vous devez utiliser pour faire des demandes d’accès à Subaru concernant vos renseignements personnels que celle-ci peut détenir, veuillez cliquer sur le lien Formulaire de demande d’accès SCI.

EXACTITUDE

Subaru s’efforcera raisonnablement de s’assurer que les renseignements personnels qu’elle utilise de façon permanente sont exacts, complets et à jour tel que cela s’avère nécessaire pour les fins auxquelles ils doivent être utilisés, y compris les renseignements qu’elle communique à des tiers et ceux qui doivent servir de fondement pour qu’une décision soit prise au sujet d’une personne.

MESURES DE PROTECTION

Subaru protège les renseignements personnels qu’elle détient ou qui sont sous sa garde en établissant des arrangements de sécurité raisonnables contre la perte, le vol et contre l’accès, l’utilisation, la communication, la reproduction ou la modification non autorisés. Subaru informera ses employés de l’importance du maintien de la confidentialité des renseignements personnels et fera preuve de soin au moment du retrait ou de la destruction des renseignements personnels. Des exemples de mesures de protection incluent des mesures matérielles (comme des classeurs verrouillés et des cartes d’accès), des mesures organisationnelles (comme des autorisations de sécurité et des restrictions concernant l’accès des employés aux dossiers et aux bases de données) et des mesures techniques (comme des mots de passe et des pare-feux).

TRANSPARENCE

Subaru verra à ce que les renseignements suivants soient facilement accessibles : les renseignements généraux concernant sa politique de protection des renseignements personnels, la façon d’accéder à vos renseignements personnels, le type de renseignements personnels qu’elle détient, un compte rendu général de l’utilisation et de la communication des renseignements personnels et la façon de communiquer avec l’agent à la protection de la vie privée

CHANGEMENTS À LA PRÉSENTE POLITIQUE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Comme elle peut revoir ses politiques et procédures, Subaru peut changer de temps à autre la présente politique de protection des renseignements personnels, et la politique de protection des renseignements personnels révisée prendra effet lorsqu’elle sera affichée sur son site Web avec une note indiquant la date à laquelle la politique a été révisée. Il est donc important que vous examiniez régulièrement la présente politique de protection des renseignements personnels.

PLAINTE À L’ÉGARD DU NON-RESPECT

Sur demande, Subaru fournira des renseignements sur sa procédure de réponse aux plaintes formulées concernant son application des lois en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Subaru enquêtera sur toutes les plaintes formulées par écrit, et si la plainte est jugée fondée, elle prendra les mesures appropriées, y compris, s’il y a lieu, la modification de ses politiques et de ses pratiques.
Veuillez adresser toute question sur la procédure relative aux plaintes ou sur tout autre aspect de la présente politique de protection des renseignements personnels à l’agent à la protection de la vie privée de Subaru, à l’adresse suivante :

Agent à la protection de la vie privée
Subaru Canada, Inc.
560 Suffolk Court
Mississauga (Ontario) L5R 4J7
Par courriel, à l’adresse : privacy.mysubaru.ca
Téléphone : 1 800 894-4212
Télécopieur : 905 568-8087